Print this Page
Print this Page

Belgium/ 3. Competence, decision-making and administration  

3.2 Overall description of the system

Belgium is a federal country. Autonomy is vested in the federated entities: the Regions and the Communities in the fields for which they are competent. The Flemish, French and German-speaking Communities hold competences for culture as well as education, sport, early years, youth aid and legal advice centres.

Each Community is organised on the basis of a legislative power (Council) and an executive power (Government).

The Flemish Community is competent in Flanders and Brussels (for the Dutch-speaking population) and the French-speaking Community of Belgium (the French Community) is competent in Wallonia and Brussels (for the French-speaking population), while the German-speaking Community is competent in that part of Wallonia where the population speaks German.

However, various matters which overlap with cultural policies fall under federal competence, such as labour law, social security, taxation and intellectual property rights.

Moreover, various cultural institutions, largely located in Brussels, fall under federal competence: the Royal Opera of La Monnaie, Bozar, the Royal Museums of Art and History, the Royal Museums of Fine Arts, the Royal Library of Belgium, the National Orchestra of Belgium, and the Royal Museum of Central Africa, to name but a few.

The Regions are responsible for managing monuments and sites.

Chapter published: 16-01-2018

Your Comments on this Chapter?