Print this Page
EN DE FR  ||  About Us | Contact | Legal Notice Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO
Print this Page
EN DE FR  Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO

In 2014, Ukraine negotiated with the European Commission on participation in the Creative Europe programme and establishing a programme office.

Show all Profile-News...

Ukraine/ 3.4 International cultural co-operation  

3.4.3 European / international actors and programmes

In 2014, the Ministry of Culture negotiated with the European Commission on Ukraine's participation in the Creative Europe programme and establishing of a programme office in Ukraine.

Two CoE programmes involving Ukraine are Intercultural Cities and COMUS. The latter started in 2015, envisaging the involvement of at least one pilot city from Ukraine along with pilot cities from Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Moldova and Belarus.

COMUS is a Council of Europe and European Union joint project implemented as part of the Eastern Partnership Programme for exploring and testing innovative planning models for small- and medium-sized historic towns capable of improving the quality of life and ensure  sustainable social and economic development.

The new project, which is a continuation of the successful "Pilot project on the rehabilitation of cultural heritage in historic towns" implemented as part of the Kyiv Initiative until 2011, officially started on 1 January 2015 and will run until 30 June 2017. Activities will be implemented in partnership with the Organisation of World Heritage Cities.

Ukraine became a member of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) on 12 May 1954. Ukraine's Permanent mission to UNESCO has operated since December 1962, with its headquarters in Paris. Ukraine has ratified UNESCO conventions concerning cultural heritage (architectural, underwater and intangible), diversity of cultural expressions. In 2014, Ukraine submitted to the Secretariat of UNESCO the regular report on implementation of the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions prepared by the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine and the Ukrainian Centre for Cultural Studies. It states, among others, the following:

For efficient implementation of the provisions of the Convention 2005, the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine worked out and adopted an Action Plan for 2013-2014 which was approved by the Deputy Prime Minister of Ukraine on humanitarian issues. All stakeholders in culture were involved to develop this Action Plan and its implementation, such as local authorities, municipalities and civil society.

Thus, this Action Plan outlined the international projects carried out and cooperation between institutions of culture and education both within the country and abroad, especially with neighboring countries of Ukraine; there were cultural exchanges; and there was financial support provided to the media; and education actions were carried out, and so on.

In particular, during 2013 in regions of Ukraine the following projects were notable:

  • joint international art projects (for example, the festival of the Ukrainian-Polish Art "Music meeting at the Palace Branickis");
  • international exchange programmes between Ukrainian universities and universities of other countries;
  • inter museums projects between museums of Ukraine and museums of other countries, such as Russia, Poland and Belarus;
  • joint projects between theatres of Ukraine and theatres of other countries, including Estonia, Russia, Poland, Georgia, etc.; and
  • various art collectives of Ukraine, including those that represent the culture of national minorities; participation in international art events abroad; while foreign creative groups were welcome guests at artistic events in Ukraine.

In 2013, the Regional seminar on the practical implementation of the 2005 UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions was held in the city of Lviv (see also chapter 3.4.1). The same year two sites from Ukraine were included to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites: the ancient city of Tauric Chersonese and its Chora and wooden Tserkvas (churches) of the Carpathian Region in Poland and Ukraine. Besides, Petrykivka decorative painting as a phenomenon of the Ukrainian ornamental folk art was included into the Representative List of UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage.

In February 2015, the Ministry of Culture of Ukraine made a request to UNESCO to put Chersonese onto the "black list" since it had no information about the situation of the ancient city after the annex of Crimea by Russia. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs supported this request.

Chapter published: 05-06-2015

Your Comments on this Chapter?