Print this Page
Print this Page

Switzerland/ 3. Competence, decision-making and administration  

3.3 Inter-ministerial or intergovernmental co-operation

The Conference of Cantonal Directors of Culture (CCDC) and the Conference of Swiss Cities on Cultural Matters (CSCC) were established more as discussion forums than horizontal coordination bodies. Both meet biannually and invite representatives of the Swiss Federal Office of Culture and the Pro Helvetia Foundation to attend as observers. There is little cooperation between the two conferences. By contrast, the new Culture Promotion Act envisages a clear division of tasks and closer cooperation among all levels of state. On 25 October 2011, the federal government, cantons, cities, and communes signed a Convention for a National Dialogue on Culture. This can be considered a first important step toward the implementation of the Dispatch on Culture.

The main federal players also operate independently of one other. An informal "QUARTETT" committee has been set up to coordinate the promotion of Swiss culture abroad. Members of the committee include the Directorate of Political Affairs of FDFA, Presence Switzerland (PRS), the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) (all three belong to the FDHA), the Federal Office of Culture (, and Pro Helvetia (both belong to the FDHA).

Pursuant to the Culture Promotion Act (2009), the federal government has to develop quadrennial strategies. The first one, currently implemented in the 2012–2015 period, stipulates the key points of cultural promotion policy to be routinely placed under the jurisdiction of federal institutions. Interfaces with other important actors on the cantonal and city levels, as well as with private sponsors, also play an important role.

Chapter published: 12-11-2014

Your Comments on this Chapter?