Print this Page
Print this Page

Slovenia/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

At the moment, Slovenia has two political territorial levels: state and municipal. As described in chapter 4.3, there are no regions in Slovenia so far. The construction of regions (and their number) has been one of the most sensitive political questions in Slovenia for a long time.

In accordance with the Act Amending the Government of the Republic of Slovenia Act (2013) the Ministry of Culture was re-established in March 2013; from February 2012 to March 2013 it had been included in a so called "super ministry", together with education, science and sport. Regardless of its organisational format, the Ministry of Culture performs tasks in the areas of creative art, culture, cultural heritage, the media, the Slovene language and religious communities. The work of the Ministry of Culture includes:

Supervision of the performance of statutory and regulative provisions in the area of culture and media is carried out by the Inspectorate of the Republic of Slovenia for Culture and Media, a body incorporated within the Ministry.

Tasks concerning archives and documentary material are performed by the Archive of the Republic of Slovenia, a body incorporated within the Ministry. According to the Archives and Archival Institutions Act that was later replaced by Protection of Documents and Archives and Archival Institutions Act (2006) the state assumes responsibility for all 6 regional archives in 1997.

The relationship between the state and the municipalities (210) in the field of culture is regulated by the Act Regulating the Realisation of the Public Interest in the Field of Culture (2002).

The state finances national public institutions, public programmes of NGOs and projects that are of importance to the whole of Slovenia. The Law mentioned above provides special attention to:

  • Slovenian minorities in Austria, Italy, Hungary and Slovenians throughout the world; (in 2006 this concern was transferred to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs);
  • the two official minority groups in Slovenia: Hungarian and Italians;
  • the Roma community;
  • the cultural integration of immigrants; and
  • the special cultural needs of people who are blind, deaf or mute and others groups with disabilities.

The municipalities are obliged to:

  • ensure, in accordance with special sector laws, the functioning of libraries, museums and galleries and look after cultural heritage in their areas and at the same time to maintain cultural monuments owned by them (the Librarianship Act, the Cultural Heritage Protection Act;
  • cover other cultural needs of their citizens (amateur culture, local cultural centres, publishing, libraries, arts cinema..) identified by the local cultural programmes; and
  • provide spaces that are intended for cultural activities in their area and upgrading their cultural infrastructure.

The municipalities, which historically have developed into cultural centres of broader significance, are bound by the law to continue to exercise and develop this role. The state is supposed to help them in doing so by additional means, based on special agreements between the state and municipalities. At present, the state still provides the majority of finances for local public cultural institutions of broader significance. Around 40 cultural institutions (including 10 theatres, the rest are museums) get up to 80% of their public funding (salaries, running and operational costs) directly from the Ministry of Culture.

Chapter published: 11-02-2015

Your Comments on this Chapter?