Print this Page
EN DE FR  ||  About Us | Contact | Legal Notice Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO
Print this Page
EN DE FR  Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO

Poland/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

Poland is administratively divided into the central (state), provincial (Voivodship), district (poviat) and municipal / communal (gmina) levels. The central state administration – the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage – is the main actor legislatively and financially responsible for culture.

There are laws which oblige municipalities and communes to realise public tasks to satisfy the needs of the local community. Among them are cultural responsibilities such as establishing local cultural institutions.

Districts assume responsibility for cultural institutions on the basis of the following legal Acts:

  • the Act on Local Government Administration of 8 March 1999; and
  • the Act on the change of some Laws Defining the Competencies of the National Administration Bodies of 24 July 1998.

Chapter published: 20-08-2015

Your Comments on this Chapter?