Print this Page
Print this Page

Netherlands/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

There is no law-based division of responsibilities between central government, the provinces and municipalities. However, there are some regulations and laws within which the division of specific tasks and competences for municipalities and provinces can be formulated. These include the Monuments and Historic Buildings Act 1988 [Monumentenwet 1988], the Library Act [Bibliotheekwet] and the  Cultural Heritage Act [Erfgoedwet] 2016.

Apart from these laws, municipalities are free to develop cultural policy in whatever direction. On the other hand, the culture minister (or state secretary) is obliged to consult the provinces and municipalities before sending the four-year cultural policy document to parliament. As part of this process, a covenant system has been developed to coordinate cultural policy initiatives launched by the three levels of government (see chapter 3.2).

Chapter published: 13-03-2017

Your Comments on this Chapter?