Print this Page
Print this Page

Monaco/ 3. Competence, decision-making and administration  

3.2 Overall description of the system

The Principality of Monaco is a hereditary and constitutional monarchy with a regime governed by the Constitution of 17th December 1962 (revised in 2002).

Executive power lies in the authority of the Prince, services are controlled by the Minister of State, assisted by five Members of the Government, each of whom is in charge of a specific Ministry: Interior, Finances and the Economy, Health and Social Affairs, Public Works, the Environment and Urban Development, Foreign Affairs and Cooperation.

Within the Ministry of Interior, the Department of Cultural Affairs is responsible for proposing measures designed to enhance the intellectual and artistic life of the Principality. Another part of its remit is to control, coordinate and further the activity of cultural associations.

Chapter published: 07-10-2015

Your Comments on this Chapter?