Print this Page
Print this Page

From January 2014, three types of grants are available: for development of creativity; for participation in workshops etc; and for remarkable artistic contribution.

Show all Profile-News...

Lithuania/ 8.1 Support to artists and other creative workers  

8.1.3 Grants, awards, scholarships

In 2001, the government approved a procedure for awarding grants to creators of art and culture. There are three types of state grants: a) individual grant b) grant for educational activities and c) memorial scholarship (2010). The amounts of the grants are determined by the Resolution of the Government (2010) and quotas are set by the Lithuanian Culture Council.In 2010 the government shortened the grant period for educational activities from 1 year to six months, and the memorial scholarships period from 5 years to 1 year. In January 2014, the government passed the Resolution on the new Regulation of State Grants. According to the Regulation, three types of grants have been established: individual grants for development of creativity; educational grants for participation in workshops, conferences, training seminars etc; and personal grants for remarkable artistic contribution to Lithuanian art. The individual grant amount is LTL 1 300 per month.

The state provides financing for annual National Culture and Art Awards, and supports the distribution of the award winners' work. The state allows not more than 6 awards per year, each awarded LTL 104 000. One award is nominated to an individual artist for his / her long-lived contribution to national  culture and art. Awards have been nominated since 1989 by the Awards Council, which has 11 members.

In 2006, the government passed the Resolution on the Government's Culture and Art Award, which aims to promote art creators, performers, musicians, film makers etc. for their merits to Lithuanian art.  According to the Regulation of the award, the state allows no more than 15 awards per year, each awarded LTL 44 200. 

The Ministry of Culture provides annual awards for notable librarians, museum and culture centre specialists, culture publicists, and creators of educational programmes.

The total financing amount for the National Culture and Art Award, the Government Award, and the Ministry of Culture Awards is LTL 1 520 000 in 2013.

In 1992 the government established the Jonas Basanavičius annual Award for remarkable achievements in the research and upholding of ethnic culture traditions.

Chapter published: 28-11-2014

Your Comments on this Chapter?