Print this Page
Print this Page

Lithuania/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

Competence in the cultural sector is defined by legislation. The government's (Ministry of Culture, other ministries) functions, role, activities and responsibility are defined by the Law of Government (1994; amended 2011) and the Regulation of the Ministry of Culture (2010). The Ministry of Culture is responsible for the management of all of the state's cultural institutions (museums, libraries, theatres etc.), national cultural institutions (9), implementation of heritage policy, Lithuanian language protection policy, support for cultural activities of national minorities, etc. (see more in  chapter 3.2). The Ministry of Culture, acting in accordance with the Law on Budget Composition (amended 2007) and taking into consideration the priorities established by the government, drafts a budget for culture and defines its strategic plan. Central government institutions play a key role in culture heritage protection at national, regional and municipal levels.

The Law of Local Self-government (1994; amended 2012) determines substantive rights of the self-governments to develop general cultural activities (ethnic culture, museums, libraries, theatres, cultural centres etc.). The culture sector in municipalities, according to the Law, has a "limited autonomous" status, i.e. not all municipal actions in culture may be carried out independently, and the state (Ministry of Culture) has a right to interfere. The Law on Public Institutions (1996, amended in 2004) provides provisions on establishing and functioning of public institutions, including cultural, tourism, heritage, educational and other sectors.

Chapter published: 28-11-2014

Your Comments on this Chapter?