Print this Page
Print this Page

Latvia/ 3.4 International cultural co-operation  

3.4.3 European / international actors and programmes

Latvia became a member of UNESCO in 1991, and joined the European Cultural Convention of the Council of Europe in 1992. In 1995, Latvia became a signatory to the Berne Convention. The Memorandum of Co-operation between Latvia and UNESCO was signed in 1998. In 2004, Latvia became a member state of the EU.

In 2007, Latvia ratified the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions. The responsible body for the implementation and monitoring of the convention is the Ministry of Culture.

Cooperation within the Baltic Sea region is awarded special attention. VASAB - Vision and Strategies around the Baltic Sea - is an intergovernmental network of 11 countries in the Baltic Sea Region promoting cooperation on spatial planning and development in the Baltic Sea Region.

The European Commission adopted a Communication on the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region on 10 June 2009. This is the first time that a comprehensive Strategy, covering several Community policies, is targeted on a "macro-region".

For more information on cooperation in Baltic region see chapter 3.4.2.

Chapter published: 08-10-2014

Your Comments on this Chapter?