Print this Page
Print this Page

Italy/ 3. Competence, decision-making and administration  

3.1 Organisational structure (organigram)

Chart 1 provides a schematic overview of the organisational structure of cultural administration in Italy at the four levels of government (see  chapter 3.2).

Chart 1:     Institutional structure of cultural administration at the four levels of government

Chart 2 shows the new organisational structure of the Ministry for Heritage, Cultural Activities and Tourism provided for by Ministerial Decree, 29 August 2014.

Chart 2:     Organisational structure of the Ministry of the Heritage, Cultural Activities and Tourism

Chart 3:     Autonomous and ordinary regions in Italy; special responsibilities for heritage of the autonomous regions of Val d'Aosta, Trentino Alto Adige and Sicily


* Autonomous regions to which the state has devolved direct responsibility for heritage and landscape since the late 1970s. Region Trentino Alto Adige has in turn devolved responsibility for heritage and landscape to the provinces of Trento and Bolzano.

Although the other two autonomous regions of Sardinia and Friuli Venezia Giulia are also endowed with more extensive cultural responsibilities and resources, the state maintains direct responsibilities for the protection of their heritage.

All 20 regions have Regional Departments for Culture (see  chapter 3.2).

Chapter published: 10-02-2017

Your Comments on this Chapter?