Print this Page
Print this Page

Georgia/ 8.3 Arts and cultural education  

8.3.4 Higher arts education and professional training

Cycles of Higher Education

The higher education system in Georgia consists of three cycles:

  • First cycle – Bachelor's Degree (240 credits);
  • Second cycle – Master's Degree (120 credits); and
  • Third cycle – Doctor's Degree (180 credits).

Within the first cycle programme leading to the degree of Certified Specialist, the credits awarded are 120-180.

Higher Education Institutions

The following are the higher education institutions in Georgia:

  • College – higher education institution implementing professional higher educational programme or / and only the first cycle programmes – Bachelor programmes;
  • Teaching University – higher education institution implementing higher educational programmes (except for doctoral programmes). It is required to provide the second cycle – Master educational programmes; and
  • University – higher education institution implementing educational programmes of all the three cycles of higher academic education.

Quality Assurance

External quality assurance in Georgia is carried out through an accreditation process which is conducted by the National Education Accreditation Centre

The state recognises the qualification documents issued only by an accredited or equalised thereto higher education institution. Today there are 12 universities and professional schools in Georgia:

  • 4 universities dedicated to art;
  • 3 specialised colleges of art;
  • 3 general universities in which there are centres or faculties of arts; and
  • 2 private institutions in which there are centres or faculties of arts.

In May 2005, Georgia acceded to the Bologna process. The new Law of Georgia on Higher Education binds the institutes of higher education of Georgia to pursue the main priorities of the Bologna process, such as transferring to the three-step system of higher education, quality assurance and accreditation, European Credits Transfers and Storage (ECTS) system, mobility, involvement of students in the decision-making process, compatibility of curricula with the European system etc.

Since 2005, a new model entitled "Money Follows a Student" has been in operation. Two phases of institutional accreditation have also been carried out under the Universal National Examination system, which has secured assessment of entrants by the unified methods and elimination of corruption in this sphere. The cooperation of the Ministry of Education and Sciences with the civil community is in progress.

Under Order N 407 of the Minister of Education and Sciences of Georgia of May 3, 2006 was established the national team for support of the Bologna process. The goal of this team is to set the concrete objectives for the effective implementation of the reforms under the Bologna process in Georgia and to promote the activities determined within the Bologna process. Two members of this team are representatives of the institution of higher art education.

On April 3-5, 2006 under the support and financing of the Ministry of Education and Sciences of Georgia at Shota Rustaveli State University of Theatre and Film was carried out ELIA regional conference – The Higher Art Education and Bologna. The conference was attended by the representatives of various institutes of higher art education. This conference was a significant contribution in making the significant changes in the institutes of higher art education in the light of the Bologna process.

In the autumn semester of 2006, several higher education institutions in Georgia introduced performance based indicators / targets, according to the Bologna process. As the new Law on Higher Education is not fully operational till 2007, there will be some universities adopting the quality management systems at a later date.

Among the institutes of higher art education Tbilisi Vano Sarajishvili State Conservatory and Tbilisi State Academy of Fine Arts have been transferred to the three-step system of education. In 2005-2006 was introduced the ECTS system as well. At Tbilisi Vano Sarajishvili State Conservatory 23 curricula are built on the credit system and at Tbilisi State Academy of Arts – 24 curricula. In 2006 in both institutes a new form of the Transcript to Diploma was issued to the graduates. This form was approved under Order N 149-e of the Minister of Education and Sciences of Georgia (05.04.05) On Approval of the Form for Transcript of the Higher Education State Certificate – Diploma.

Shota Rustaveli State University of Theatre and Film has also been transferred to the tree-step system of higher education. For the University students of the first and second years has been introduced the ECTS system, 114 curricula is built on the credit system. Consequently, at this University the transcripts of diploma will be issued in 2006-2007.

The full reform of education is an urgent and necessary process. However, the ongoing reform of education initiated by the Ministry of Education and Science cannot be defined as adequate. The methodology of transition from the Soviet academic system of education to a new system is underdeveloped; the proposed educational system for culture is inadequate and eclectic; and there is a manifest lack of co-ordination of the respective ministries. In spite of the general declaration of priorities of the Bologna process, the system of reorganisation of art institutions is inclined towards unification, but not diversification.

In 2007, the Law on Higher Vocational Education was adopted which creates the conditions for development of the higher educational system in line of specialties attributed to the practical qualifications. The higher vocational education in Georgia is divided into artisan and artist education, where the artisan education covers the applied specialties and artist education – the art specialties.

In the frames of the grant programme, 3 innovation laboratories will also be created with the involvement of the private sector. The purpose of creation of innovation laboratories is to perform practice-oriented teaching at the universities and to establish a platform for closer cooperation between private businesses and educational institutions. Innovation labs will be also established in mobile applications, computer games, as well as computer graphics and visual effects direction.

  • the winner in creative direction is the Academy of Fine Arts;
  • the formation of the innovation laboratory involves the
    private sector;
  • the winners in the computer games direction to create the innovation laboratory were jointly announced as Ilia's State University and Storm Bringer Studios;
  • the winner in the creation of the innovation laboratory in computer graphics and visual effects was the joint project of the Georgian Institute of Public Affairs and companies Easysoft, CG Lab; and
  • the winner in creation of the innovation lab in mobile applications was the joint project of the Georgian-American University, Leavingstone and Geocell.


Chapter published: 17-07-2018

Your Comments on this Chapter?