Print this Page
Print this Page

France/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

The Parliament (Assemblée nationale and Sénat) holds the legislative power. It prepares and promulgates the laws, which can sometimes proceed from a Government Bill.

The government holds the statutory power. However the territorial authorities "shall have power to make regulations for matters coming within their jurisdiction" (art. 72 of the Constitution), and the autorités administratives indépendantes (AAI, non-governmental administrative and independent public bodies) also have a statutory power to achieve their missions: French Broadcasting Authority (Conseil supérieur de l'audiovisuel, CSA), Commission on Information Technology and Liberties (Commission nationale de l'informatique et des libertés, CNIL), etc. The Constitutional Council enforces conformity to the laws and some regulations.

In the cultural sector, the Ministry of Culture is the State operator for legislative and regulatory matters. The Legal Department is attached to the General Secretary of the Ministry, but each Directorate of the Ministry has its own office for legal affairs that is specialised, as authors' rights and tax systems can vary in the different subsectors (cinema, literature, performing arts, broadcasting, etc.).

Chapter published: 18-05-2017

Your Comments on this Chapter?