Print this Page
Print this Page

Estonia/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

The Estonian system of public administration is divided between three levels, i.e., those of the central government, the county, and the municipality. However, the regional (county) authorities are in principle mere local representatives of the central government and do not develop cultural policies of their own. The Ministry of Culture is the primary body that coordinates cultural policies on the level of the central government; its functions are defined in the By-Laws of the Ministry of Culture (1996; latest amendment in 2013, with an update of the Ministry's internal organisation). The municipal authorities are responsible for providing their populations with services, including general education and cultural services. Whereas the state government finances municipal schools according to the number of registered inhabitants within the age of obligatory education, the ability of municipalities to offer cultural services are more varying and dependent on their overall economic situation.

Chapter published: 13-10-2014

Your Comments on this Chapter?