Print this Page
EN DE FR  ||  Über uns | Kontakt | Impressum Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO
Print this Page
EN DE FR  Council of Europe LOGO  ERICarts LOGO

Cyprus/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.2 Division of jurisdiction

As far as the political context is concerned, Cyprus has a presidential system of government.  The President is elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term.  Executive power is exercised through an 11-member Council of Ministers appointed by the President.  The Legislative Power is carried out by the House of Representatives; Under the Constitution of Cyprus the judiciary is established as a separate and autonomous power.  Essentially, the Ministry of Education and Culture is the executive governmental body that is responsible for cultural matters (the division of responsibilities amongst the various governmental bodies is further elaborated in chapter 3.2).

Kapitel publiziert: 05-10-2015

Your Comments on this Chapter?