Print this Page
Print this Page

Austria/ 2. General objectives and principles of cultural policy  

2.1 Main features of the current cultural policy model

Austria is a federal state. The general clause of Article 15 of the Constitutional Law assigns most cultural competence to the provinces or Bundesländer ("cultural sovereignty").

Federal cultural policy is in the responsibility of the Arts and Culture Division (Section II) of the Federal Chancellery.

A major concern of the Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery is the promotion of contemporary art creation in Austria and to strengthen the presence of Austrian artists abroad in the area of fine arts, architecture, fashion and design, music and performing arts, photography, film and media arts, literature and publishing as well as regional cultural initiatives.

Further tasks of the Arts and Culture Division are to mediate cultural values as well as to create the conditions for cultural participation of a broader public and to create suitable framework conditions for cultural work, such as the subsidies for the federal culture institutions and regional museums, popular and folk culture activities and public libraries. Other main priorities are the protection of historic monuments and cultural heritage, an appropriate handling of the past, provenance and restitution, the democratisation of knowledge and information by providing access to digital and digitalised cultural good as well as international exchange and collaboration.

Further public responsibilities for cultural affairs have been re-allocated by sector to different institutions or bodies, like the Austrian Film Institute, KulturKontakt Austria, the MuseumsQuartier and the Bundestheater-Holding (Federal Theatres Holding).

Chapter published: 01-02-2016

Your Comments on this Chapter?